While this picture of Camaguey is familiar to our travelers on our people-to-people Cuba tours, the atmospheric city itself was originally closer to the coast. Camaguey was founded in 1514, and originally named Santa Maria del Puerto Del Principe. Its Colonial Historical Center is the largest UNESCO World Heritage Site. The constant pirate attacks forced the first residents to move the city in 1516 to the border of the Caonao River, in 1528 the city finally settled in the center of the province and today everybody calls it Camaguey.
Special thanks to IE's Cuba Destination Manager April Springer for the photograph.